We Walk for You

February 4th, 2017 was my first event with To Write Love On Her Arms. We attended the Orlando AFSP Out of the Darkness walk. We walked for 91 individuals who have lost their lives to suicide and I had the honor to assist with making the “We Walk For You” posters. I hand wrote all 91 names and hold those names and their families very close to my heart now.

I also was able to represent TWLOHA behind their booth, talking with supporters and letting people unfamiliar with us know about what we do. Being able to interact with supporters in that way was amazing and kind of blew me away. I’ve had multiple, “This is my life” moments while living here and working for TWLOHA but it hit me hard when I was listening to supporter stories. The entire time I was remembering when I walked up to the TWLOHA booth at Warped Tour multiple years in a row thinking those humans were the coolest people ever. And now I get to be one of them.

Having my first official event with TWLOHA under my belt I’m feeling great about the rest of the internship and the rest of the events to come. I’m excited and ready to continue. Here’s to 3 weeks down only 12 to go.

xx

Lauren Elizabeth

*I intern at TWLOHA. Everything here, however, is my personal opinion and is not read or approved before it is posted. Opinions, conclusions and other information expressed here do no necessarily reflect the views of TWLOHA.*

Leave a Reply

