When Your Heart Breaks

I’ve spent the past 2 months reflecting on the results of the 2016 election here in America. It was sad. It was scary. It also inspired me, surprisingly.

The results came in around 2am CST and I cried. I was terrified. I fell asleep crying. I woke up to a text from my sister expressing the fear inside of her due to the fact that she just got married to a woman. She expressed the fear of being a woman under a Trump presidency. And I cried. I cried for the rest of the day.

I thought I had felt my heart break before but this was nothing compared to that. While my heart was broken, shattered left feeling hopeless, there was the smallest part that was full of love. Full of love for those who were feeling the same way as I was. Full of love because that’s what America needed. We needed to be loved.

I realized this shortly after the election and even wrote up multiple posts about it but all the posts ended in anger. In hate. And that’s not something I wanted to put into the world. The world already has enough hate going around I didn’t feel like my immediate reaction to the election in that way would be helpful. So I waited… I waited two months.

And still the only thing that comes to my mind when I realize that Donald Trump will be our next president is love. We need to be loved. No matter who you are, who you support, or who you may or may not have voted for, you need love, we need love, America needs love.

So in the months after the election and the days after the inauguration I will leave you with the same thing I said the day after the election…

Go out and love someone today. Say thank you to that beautiful human making your coffee, hold the door for that human who may or may not have voted for Trump, say I love you to your best friend or a stranger. The world needs love today. Humans need love today. And always.

xx

Lauren Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

