I’m Still Writing My Story;

img_20161029_210719

I’m currently half-way done with my final semester of classes in my degree program. My degree program as an Arts Management and Creative Writing student is unique in many ways… one of them being my last semester of university I don’t take any classes, I intern full time in a nonprofit organization. This last month has consisted of me frantically searching for and applying for internships not knowing where life will take me next. I applied at multiple different organizations I had no idea what they did nor did I really care about if I got them or not… The last internship I applied for was on a whim, not expecting to ever get it.

The last internship I applied for was at an organization called To Write Love On Her Arms. TWLOHA might be an organization you’ve heard of… a nonprofit organization based in Florida that provides hope and resources to those struggling with depression, addiction, self-harm, and suicide. An organization that I’ve been familiar with since middle school. An organization that has inspired me and taught me a lot about my life and others. I’ve known they’ve had an intern program since I started college. I’ve always dreamt about working for TWLOHA so when the moment came where I could seriously think about applying it was a harrowing decision. Then one night I found myself filling out an application and filming a video application because what did I have to lose? I never thought I would even hear back from them. I didn’t think I had any chance of actually landing an interview let alone a position on the intern team. So when I heard back from the program director to schedule an interview I was blown away. I moved on to the second round of the process and was so freaking nervous. The possibility that I could actually get a position on the intern team was getting closer and I wanted it bad. Then a Skype interview came and went and then I waited for the email letting me know the good news (or not so good).

I was sitting in one of my classes when I received the email congratulating me and offering me a position on the Spring 2017 TWLOHA Intern Team. I ran out of class laughing, with the biggest smile on my face. I had done it. I was so excited, I am so excited. The excitement turned into tears of joy and happiness because I was given the chance to give back to an organization that changed my life. TWLOHA inspired me to live for myself and others. They inspired me to keep living. They told me that everyone has a story, and that’s important.

A couple days ago I finally registered for my last semester of college. I registered for my externship. 3 1/2 years in the making, 16-17 credits each semester, doubting my degree choice many times, and then finally realizing my passion for art, for people, for non-profit work. I will be graduating in exactly 4 years and in January I will be moving my life to a small beach town in Florida to work full time for 12 weeks at the beautiful story that is To Write Love On Her Arms. I’m ready for my future. I’m ready to continue writing my story. Who knows where I’ll be a year from now but I’m living exactly what I want now.

I am so excited to start writing this next chapter in my life. I’m so excited to be part of the beautiful story that is To Write Love On Her Arms. 

I’m so excited to be able to share my experience as a TWLOHA intern starting January on this blog. Stay tuned for more.

xx

Lauren Elizabeth 

2 thoughts on “I’m Still Writing My Story;

Leave a Reply

